Care is provided for the mentally ill in 15 institutions operated by the Provincial Government. Three special units are concerned with the care of epileptics, the tuberculous and the criminally insane. Travelling mental health clinics are organized and operated with the assistance of district consultant psychiatrists.

Public health services are administered by health units and urban health departments under the supervision of the Provincial Department and with provincial financial support. Twenty-four health units have been completed and the northern part of the Province, which is still unorganized, is provided for directly by the Department of Health.

Clinical care in the local health units is supervised by the appropriate divisions of the Department; consultative services, diagnosis and minor treatment are provided for venereal disease; four chest clinics are maintained for tuberculosis at various points in the Province and three travelling mass-survey units are operated; a railway dental car serves certain areas in the northern part of the Province and the Division of Dental Services is responsible for dental health education programs and clinics in hospitals and other institutions.

Limited medical services are provided to old age pensioners and other recipients of social assistance under an agreement with the Ontario Medical Association. Necessary hospital care is supplied to indigents through a daily grant paid to hospital boards by provincial and municipal authorities. The hospitals in Ontario are graded according to size and type and a maximum provincial and municipal per diem grant is fixed for each grade. Tuberculosis sanatoria, operated under provincial or private auspices, are subsidized by provincial grants. Provincial grants-in-aid are given to local boards of health for dental services and for venereal disease clinics. Financial assistance is offered for post-graduate study in public health nursing.

In the academic year 1947-48, financial aid was extended to seven doctors, 29 nurses, one veterinarian and two sanitary engineers to assist them in the pursuit of studies in public health. Grants-in-aid were also paid to the six County Public Health School Nursing Services operating in 1948.

Manitoba.—In Manitoba health activities are administered in co-ordination with welfare services by the Department of Health and Public Welfare under the direction of a Minister. The Department has four main divisions: General Administration; Health Services; Psychiatric Services; and Welfare Services.

The Division of Health Services has four sections: (1) Environmental Sanitation, (2) Preventive Medical Care including communicable disease control, maternal and child hygiene and public health nursing, (3) Extension Health Services including consultative services for, and general administration of local units, diagnostic services and medical care, and (4) Laboratory Services.

The Division of Psychiatric Services supervises the provincial mental institutions at Winnipeg, Selkirk, and Brandon and a school for the mentally defective at Portage la Prairie. This division is also responsible for out-patient services, child guidance clinics, services to courts and child-caring agencies, boarding-home care for the mentally ill, and teaching facilities.

The Province is divided into health regions composed of groups of municicipalities, with hospital districts, medical care districts, medical-nursing units, and diagnostic centres within these regions. The Province subsidizes the employment of doctors on a prepayment plan in medical care districts within the health regions. Outside these districts nurses provide emergency care particularly to maternity patients and operate immunization and child and maternal health clinics.